Manchester United Betting

Manchester United is a football club based in Manchester, England, and plays its games in the ‘Theatre of Dreams’, more formerly known as Old Trafford. The ground was opened in 1910 and has a capacity of around 80,000. The club itself was founded in 1878 and plays in the Premier League, the highest league in English football.

The club is formerly known as ‘The red devils’ due to the club’s crest and the team’s red kit.
Manchester United is currently owned by The Glazers. The Glazers are six siblings who bought the club for £790 million in 2005 in a leveraged deal that has been criticised for loading debt onto the club. If you’re a fan of this club and want to take part in sports betting, then we at Online Casino Slots are here to provide you with everything you need to know about South African Sports Betting.

History of Manchester United

Manchester United was founded in 1878 under the name Newton Heath L&YR Football Club. The club competed in the Football League for the first time in 1892 but was relegated after just 2 years. In 1902 the club was then taken over by a group of businessmen, and the club was renamed Manchester United. Under the new name, they won the English League title in 1908 and won their first FA Cup trophy just two years after. The club also moved into
the newly built Old Trafford the same year.

Sir Matt Busby was appointed in 1945 and went on to win two league titles in 1956 and 1957 with a squad that’s age averaged 21. He was a visionary leader who reshaped the club by
putting faith in younger players. This squad went by the nickname the ‘Busby Babes’.

In 1958 however, while coming back from a European Cup match, the club’s plane crashed,
leaving 8 players and 3 coaches dead. This tragic event is known as the Munich Air Disaster.

The club was then rebuilt and went through many managerial changes, and won many titles until 1986 when Sir Alex Ferguson was hired as the new head coach. The first few years of Alex Ferguson’s reign were difficult despite winning the FA Cup in 1990. Over the next 20 years, however, he went on to win 25 major trophies, including 11 League titles. Manchester United won their first-ever League Double in 1994 and became the first and currently only team to win the treble in 1999. United also won three consecutive league titles from 1999-2001, a record that has only ever been matched by this year’s Manchester City side.

In 2013 however, Sir Alex retired, and despite picking up a few major trophies in the coming years, no manager has been able to replicate his success. The team has been successful in cup competitions but has failed to win the Premier League ever since and has had below-average finishes in the league for their standard.

Manchester United Honours

Since its inception, Manchester United have won:

  • 20 Premier League titles
  • 2 Champions Leagues
  • 1 Fifa Club World Cup
  • 1 UEFA Supercup
  • 1 Europa League
  • 1 Cup Winners Cup
  • 12 FA Cups
  • 6 English League Cups
  • 21 Community Cups
  • 1 Intercontinental Cups
  • 2 English 2nd Tier Cups

Famous Players/Team Legends of Manchester United

Some Legends of Manchester United football club include Bobby Charlton, George Best, Denis Law, Bryan Robson, David Beckham, Ryan Giggs and Rio Ferdinand. There are also some more recent famous players who have played for the club, including Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo, David De Gea, Bruno Fernandes and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Manchester United Football Betting

Manchester United is widely considered the biggest club in England and one of the biggest clubs in the world. They have won 20 English League titles and have dominated English football for decades until the departure of Sir Alex Ferguson. Manchester United have a huge fanbase, many of which enjoy sports betting while watching their favourite club. We are aware that sports betting isn’t for everyone, and that is why we at Online Casino Slots offer a wide range of casino bonuses for players.